Letters From a Friend by Patrick McGuigan

“Bill, how are you? I fell last month and broke my leg. It hurt. I’m feeling better now. Write me back!”

“I miss you, Bill. Rain, wind, sleet, hail. Rain, wind, sleet, hail. Rain, wind, sleet, hail. This place is a shithole.”

“Bill, I moved today. It’s much nicer here. I even met someone on the train. She has pleasing features and a gentle temperament. She could be my Daisy. Write me some time, alright?”

“Bill, why do you never write me back? You know the woman I met? She’s a whore. I’m wasting my time.

“Remember when we were kids? We were on your roof, and we had those fireworks. Oh, those lights, like fireflies in the sky. I miss that.”

“This is the last time I’m writing you. I dropped a dish. It shattered. I shattered. It’s a cancer of the brain, and still you never write. We had the best of times, and the worst of times, but I guess every story has its ending. I’m just about there.

John Doe

1920-1967

Pennies in the mouths of the dead

Isn’t that silly?

4 Responses to Letters From a Friend by Patrick McGuigan

  1. theloveofyourlife says:

    this is really chilling but why’d you cut out the drunk parttt ? )):

    anyway i like it ! (:

  2. Kathy Fish says:

    You did such a great job of creating a different tone for each letter snippet, Patrick. The ending clobbered me.

  3. little.red says:

    i f-ing love the ending.
    nice work patty =]

  4. Adrienne P says:

    The voice in your writing is weathered and matured and makes way for really interesting characters. You also have a knack for really good endings, love it.

Leave a Reply

